About Sailors' Rest
Sailors’ Rest has a long history of providing entertainment to locals and visitors in Geelong, first to seafarers and now to you! Sailors’ Rest has been a fixture in Geelong for over 100 years, and has been open as a restaurant and café Geelong residents and visitors have enjoyed for a quarter of a century.
The foundation stone for Sailors’ Rest was laid by then Premier of Victoria, the Hon. John Murray, MLA, on February 3, 1912, as a memorial to honour King Edward VII. This two-storey brick and cement-rendered Edwardian period structure was designed by architects Seeley, King and Everett, the design being attributed to Percy Everett and was notable for the nautical art nouveau ornamentation and use of reinforced concrete in a raft floor slab.
Completed in 1913, Sailors’ Rest provided company and entertainment for sailors who had spent weeks, and often months, at sea in the confines of sailing ships. In fact, Sailors’ Rest served as a home away from home for seafarers until 1986.
The electric Sailors’ Rest sign was erected in 1926 and is reportedly the oldest remaining electric sign in Victoria. It is still operational today and the inspiration for the current logo.
The current owners have been dishing up delicious food to locals and tourists alike since 2001, steadily building a reputation for excellence. The iconic Sailors’ Rest building is heritage listed and operates today as a leading restaurant and function venue in Geelong.